Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2025: 3 days of full immersion in data, analytics, and AI. May 13-15 | Orlando, FL: Learn More
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Appending two tables loaded from QVD files

Hi all,

I am quite new to Qlikview and so far managed to get by with what I've learnt at the training course, from the Help and from the forum (mainly from the forum). However, I'm a bit puzzled with something - I am trying to perform LOAD from two different QVD files at different times, but I'd like to merge them/concatenate them together.

For example, the first time I perform a load from the QVD file, I'll just do a normal load and keep the table Item_info_first, as shown in the 'else' part of the code sample. The next time I perform a reload, I'd like to load from a different QVD file and load id in table Item_info_incr, as shown in the 'if' part. I need to concatenate the two - they have identical fields. In other words, I need to append the second load to the first one somehow.

Whatever I've tried hasn't worked and it seems that I can only concatenate/append loads if they're performed one after another in the script, not at different times. Is that correct? Does anybody know if there's a way to do what I need to do?

I have tried and managed to get it going using 'add only load' and performing 'partial reload', but I need this to work through the scheduler and the management console, not through the UI and by running Qlikview application. As far as I can see, there's no way to do that.

Any thoughs or input will be greatly appreciated after spending few hours today trying to figure it out.

Regards,

Katerina

if filesize('file.qvd') > 0 then
Item_info_incr:
LOAD item1, item2
FROM item_info_Tue.qvd (qvd);
CONCATENATE (Item_info_first) LOAD * RESIDENT Item_info_incr;
drop table Item_info_incr;
else
Item_info_first:
LOAD item1, item2
FROM newfile.qvd (qvd)
where Year > 2000;
end if

1 Solution