Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
meimagine
Contributor
Contributor

Bulk load and then incremental load of almost 200GB data in Qlikview

Hey Guys,

We are having a very huge data set (more than 200 GB) which also needs to be incrementally updated after the bulk update. I have loaded a little bit and am already running into performance issues.(I have tried creating QVDs and direct DB loads both and I have already reduced the number of columns that are being extracted) Can some one please suggest what can be done to implement this. The stakeholders actuallly want to extract 3-4 years of data from the dashboards as well. I am pretty new to Qlikview and have not handled this much amount of data in qlik dashboards before. Any suggestions on what process I can try?

Are there options to archive the data and only load it on the dashboard when someone is trying to extract a specific data set? But even if I keep the minimum the data set for a year would also be pretty huge.(20 million rows a month) Thanks.

Labels (2)
22 Replies
Vegar
MVP
MVP

Yes that sounds like a lot of data. A Qlik approach to create an aggregate view of all data and connect to the details of the database  using a Direct Discovery.

marcus_sommer

I think there are several things which should be considered by handling larger datasets, for example:

- using a multi-tier data-architecture
   - means the use of at least 3 data-layers, like generators --> datamodels --> reports
   - each logically part gets an own generator / datamodel
   - those tasks could then run in parallel and/or within different timeframes or frequencies
   - makes it easier to develop and maintain the logic
   - especially in regard to implement incremental approaches 
   - and slicing the data maybe into monthly slices

- loading only the needed data and prepare them properly
  - no record-id's from the database
    (they might be needed to evaluate this or that but aren't necessary in any reports)