Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Display 100% data points for missing data on a line chart?

Hi everybody - first time poster here. I'm very new to QlikView, so go easy on me .

I believe this question has been asked many times, however I think my particular situation is potentially a little different and just wanted the experts input.

I have a simple line chart that displays the percentage of 'cases' that met our service level objective (SLO) for each month: MonthYear as the dimension, with the following expression: Sum(SLOFlag) / Sum(CaseCount). Simple.

A request came in asking to display 100% for a month if there were no cases, instead of a straight line from one month to the next datapoint. As far as I can understand, this is not nearly as straight forward as one would think.

I'm trying to wrap my head around all of the different methods I keep reading (create dummy values, use a fancy IF statement that ties to an isolated calendar separate from your data model, etc.) I just want to be guided in the right direction.

I am trying to avoid dummy values, since I think moving forward this could potentially make the app explode in size.

I am currently trying to utilize the isolated calendar method (separated from the current data model), but can't seem to get it to work correctly. Could something similar to the following expression potentially work?

Using IsoMonthYear as the dimension.

IF

(

IsoMonthYear = MonthYear,

Sum(SLOFlag) / Sum(CaseCount),

)

Or is it much more complicated than this?

Thanks!

Paul

8 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi Paul,

maybe you can attach sample application to show your current data model and expressions?

regards

Darek

Not applicable
Author

Here's a quick mock up. As you can see, Company1 doesn't have any data for February. We would want this to be reflected as 100%.

In the second chart, it always shows 100% unless I drill down on a single month.

Thanks!