Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
VisualUK
Contributor II
Contributor II

Grouped Bar chart Month by Month

hi All (newbie here), 

I am  trying to show a grouped bar chart comparing ticket numbers monthly for the pats 3 years (2018, 19 and 20).

So Far, I have only managed to show all the months but Year after year - Meaning:

Jan... Dec 2018, Jan...Dec 2019, Jan... June 2020

My dimension is: date(Monthname([CAT.Created]),'MMM')

My Expression is: Count({1<CAT_Ticket_ID>}CAT_Ticket_ID) - cannot be impacted by other user's selections

Dimension sort added is: num(month(CAT.Created)) + year(CAT.Created)/100000

I am getting the following bar chart. 

- Jan, Feb, Mar    (2018) || Jan, Feb, Mar, ... (2019) || Jan, Feb, Mar.... (2020)

What i would like seeing is: 

- Jan '18, Jan '19, Jan'20 || Feb'18, Feb'19, Feb '20... and so on

any help highly appreciated... 

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
VisualUK
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

Hi @Anonymous , I wasn't sure what you meant by adding 1 dimension as a group and 1 as a bar. 

However, this is what I did and it works now. 

I changed my two dimensions for month and Year FROM: 

=date(monthname([cat.created]))

=date(yearname([cat.created])

TO:

CreatedYear

CreatedMonth

(in the data load script I added: Month ([cat.created]) AS CreatedMonth, Year ([cat.created]) AS CreatedYear

And the expression didn't change: [Cat.Tickets]

The graph works now 😉

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Taoufiq_Zarra

Hi,

Have you tested =date([CAT.Created],'MMMYY')  in stead of date(Monthname([CAT.Created]),'MMM') ?

Regards,
Taoufiq ZARRA

"Please LIKE posts and "Accept as Solution" if the provided solution is helpful "

(you can mark up to 3 "solutions") 😉
Anonymous
Not applicable

Its depend on how you wanna display data, if you go with granular level Drill down chart, if you wanna display for all months for each year need to create clear dimension values like Jan-18,Jan-19,Jan-20.