cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Still_Learning_QV
Contributor II
Contributor II

How to change the Month from December to January of Next year

Hi, it's my first time posting to any forums I am unsure If I am even posting to the right place, but I am stumped and need some direction / help from the community.

I am trying to create a variable where the promotional activity done in December is considered to be part of the next year's activity. While the Day & Year part of the date is getting hardcoded correctly, the Month field is remaining unchanged, which I am having trouble with as for e.g. An original date of '12/05/2022' is getting converted as '12/01/2023' instead of '01/01/2023' a full year ahead of the intended date.

This is my code:

DATE(IF(NUM(YEAR(_Date_))>=2022 and NUM(MONTH(_Date_))=12 and NUM(DAY(_Date_))>=1, '01/01/'&(NUM(YEAR(_Date_))+1),

IF(NUM(YEAR(_Date_))<2022 and NUM(MONTH(_Date_))=12 and NUM(DAY(_Date_))>=15, '01/01/'& (NUM(YEAR(_Date_))+1),

NUM(MONTH(_Date_)) & '/01/' & (NUM(YEAR(_Date_))+1) )),'MM/DD/YYYY') AS Activity_Period

I have tried multiple variations to create the Month as I want it to appear, but nothing has worked for me so far.

Any help would be massively appreciated.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Still_Learning_QV
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

Hi, Thank you for reply. This is working now. 

Only I need to make small change in the 'then' part of the IF statement. Instead of DATE() I had to use MAKEDATE() to make it work. 

Thank you so much for your help.

DATE(IF(NUM(YEAR(_Date_))>=2022 and NUM(MONTH(_Date_))=12 and NUM(DAY(_Date_))>=1, 

MAKEDATE(YEAR(_Date_)+1,1,1), 

IF(NUM(YEAR(_Date_))<2022 and NUM(MONTH(_Date_))=12 and NUM(DAY(_Date_))>=15,

MAKEDATE(YEAR(_Date_)+1,MONTH(_Date_),1) 

)),'MM/DD/YYYY') AS Activity_Period

View solution in original post

6 Replies
tresesco
MVP
MVP

You are at the right place. 🙂

Try like below: