Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Multiple Dimensions on Pie Chart. Don't understand why it shows legend for only some

Hello,

I discovered something cool (to a newbie like me) with pie chart. I put in multiple dimensions and it shows a pie chart within a pie chart like this:

2015 0111_01.50.29.PM_0002.gif

I really like this because it lets me convey a lot in a little space. So I started playing with it and adding more dimensions. Now I'm a  bit confused about how this actually works. The dimensions I added are VP, Director, Manager and Lead. Those are names of people in those positions and the "hierarchy" is as I've listed it.

I also have a MultiBox to let user select values for each of those Fields like this:

2015 0111_01.58.07.PM_0003.gif

In the Chart I have the dimensions listed like this:

2015 0111_02.02.12.PM_0004.gif

What surprised me was that the chart showed multiple legends. I liked that as well, but I'm confused about how it's doing that. When I don't have anything selected it shows this and it makes sense. Since I haven't selected anything, it's showing me the top two levels (VP and Director) and the names for each.

2015 0111_02.04.35.PM_0005.gif

However, if I select a specific VP, the legends change to show the Managers and Leads. I expected (hoped) it would show the Directors and Managers since those are the next two levels under VP

2015 0111_02.08.54.PM_0006.gif

If I choose a specific Director, it still shows the Manager and Leads legends. This is what I would expect.

2015 0111_02.13.20.PM_0007.gif

So the question is "why isn't it showing the Director and Manager legends when I select a VP?"

Thanks for any help

David

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III