Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Need help on sorting Year-Month group.

Hi, everyone -

I'm quite new to QlikView. This might be very basic, but here I go:

I have created a Year-Month group, which, indeed, looks like 'Dec-2006', 'Feb-2008'... 'Nov-2013', etc. I am using it as a dimension in my chart object. Thing is, I want it to be shown ordered ('Jan-2006', 'Feb-2006' ... 'Dec-2013').

How can this be achieved?

Thank you all in advance.

Martín.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Clever_Anjos
Employee
Employee

Is your field a string?

If so use date#(yourfield,'MMM-YYYY') as your sorting expression

View solution in original post

8 Replies
Not applicable
Author

In the Sort tab of your chart check Numeric Value and select Ascending from the dropdown for your Year-Month dimension.

Clever_Anjos
Employee
Employee

Is your field a string?

If so use date#(yourfield,'MMM-YYYY') as your sorting expression

Not applicable
Author

Thanks for your answer, Christian, but I'm afraid I'll have to strike that suggestion. That would work if I had Year, solely, but I have fields like 'Dec-2006', strictly.

Thanks again : )

Not applicable
Author

Hi, Anjos. It is the result of:

Year & '-' & Month

where Year looks like '2006', '2007'..., and Month looks like 'Jan', 'Feb', 'Mar'.

Thanks for your answer.

Not applicable
Author

No problem, I was assuming that your date field was loaded in with an interpreter function.  Just an FYI mine works if the date is interpreted in the load script.

Date:

LOAD * INLINE

[

Date

Dec-2006,

Feb-2008,

Nov-2013

];

DateFinal:

LOAD

date#(Date,'MMM-YYYY')as FinalDate

RESIDENT Date;

DROP TABLE Date;

But if it is loaded in without being interpreted it may be easier to just sort by expression as Clever Anjos suggested.

Not applicable
Author