cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MDH1
Contributor
Contributor

Sumif using calculated columns for if conditions

I'm pretty new to Qlikview, and having searched around the discussion boards for a few days and trying various approaches am still hitting a brick wall, so hoping somebody can help me out.

I've mocked up in Excel what I'm trying to get Qlikview to do - it's the RHS table I'm trying to produce, with the Total Initial Balance column being the one I'm struggling with. I don't seem to be able to do a lookup on the Balance column in table 1 based on the date ranges in each row of table 2.

i.e. If I put in specific dates, the below expression does what I'd expect (in the chart table object in the .qvw attached) for the Total_Initial_Balance column.

=sum(Total if('01/01/2019'<= JoinedMonth and JoinedMonth <= '01/01/2020' and first_entry=1, Balance)) 

But if I try and use the Min and Max dates in each row instead of constant dates, it just returns zeroes.

=sum(Total if(Min_JoinedMnth<= JoinedMonth and JoinedMonth <= Max_JoinedMnth and first_entry=1, Balance)) 

I've tried various approaches with set expressions etc, but no luck as yet.

If anybody has any ideas I'd be grateful.

Labels (4)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
lironbaram
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Hi , 
your script should look something like this 

Table1:
LOAD Customer_ID, 
     JoinedMonth, 
     Months_since_joined, 
     Balance, 
     [Paid Amount], 
     [first entry]
  FROM
[C:\Users\liron\Downloads\Example_Calc.xlsx]
(ooxml, embedded labels, header is 2 lines, table is Sheet1);

Table2:
 LOAD  Months_since_joined1, 
     JoinedMonth_Max, 
     JoinedMonth_Min
  FROM

IntervalMatch (JoinedMonth) load JoinedMonth_Min,JoinedMonth_Max resident Table2;

check out the attach app 

View solution in original post

3 Replies
lironbaram
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Hi , 
your script should look something like this 

Table1: