Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Using a LOOP to load multiple .dbf files

Hi - I'm new to this, but have been able to load multiple Excel files using a LOOP, and this works well.

However, when I try to apply the same format of loop to using 'SQL SELECT *' from multiple .dbf files, I just can't get it to work.  All files are in the same directory.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Steven

22 Replies
Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

[Edit] I removed my previous remarks. Apparently the ODBC DSN specifies the directory and the FROM clause specifies the table.

To get a single CONNECT/SELECT statement set working, you can use a different technique. Go to an empty part of your script and first click the Connect button at the bottom, enter the requested info, and next click the Select button. The script editor will use the open connection to talk to the driver to figure out what can be fetched from this connection. In the dialog that opens next, you'll be able to see and select from the tables and columns that are available.

You can repeat this step for a number of tables and then wrap them into a loop.

BTW you can specify the from clause like:

:

FROM "$(vFile)";

to compensate for spaces and other problematic characters in file paths (for example between QLIKVIEW and DEMO).

Best,

Peter

MarcoWedel

Hi,

some similar code seems to work for me:

ODBC CONNECT32 TO DBF_ODBC_DSN;

FOR Each vDBFfile in filelist('*.dbf')

Trace Loading File: $(vDBFfile);

$(vDBFfile):
    SQL Select * From $(vDBFfile);

NEXT vDBFfile;

QlikCommunity_Thread_198126_Pic1.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_198126_Pic2.JPG

using this System-DSN:

QlikCommunity_Thread_198126_Pic3.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_198126_Pic4.JPG

hope this helps

regards

Marco

Peter_Cammaert