cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dadumas
Creator II
Creator II

alternative to a master calendar

I have a master calendar, and it works great.  I have several fact tables, each with multiple date "roles".  Everything works fine.  However, my master calendar link table is large at 500k rows, due to all the combination of dates and roles.  I am very well versed in creating link tables, so I know it is created properly.  While the Master calendar link table has 500k rows, the density on almost all of the columns are at less than 5% (good).  I currently see no issues with performance, and have several million rows across fact tables  I also have individual role based calendars (tied separately to each fact), which allow for comparative analysis.

As an alternative to the above, I executed an alternative design and created a master calendar as a date island, and eliminated the Master calendar link table.  The master calendar, and all  individual role based calendars only have 1400 rows, so very efficient.  I created triggers on each of the user interface exposed selectable columns of the master calendar (Year, month, etc).   I then created "on change" and on select triggers on each of those columns, which set the corresponding Year/Month, etc columns in the individual role based calendar to those selections made on the date island master calendar.  This eliminated the need for the large Master Calendar link table. 

However, as an undesired affect, when master calendar selections are cleared, the above triggers do not seem to fire to clear selections in the individual fact specific date columns (bad).

Is this a QlikView bug?  Also, I not see any option for any ability to set an "on clear" trigger.

Dave

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

I think your trigger concept should work. Attached is a simple example that works for me, using on the OnSelect trigger. Can you try it out?

-Rob