Skip to main content

QlikView App Dev

Discussion Board for collaboration related to QlikView App Development.

Announcements
QlikWorld 2023, a live, in-person thrill ride. Save $300 before February 6: REGISTER NOW!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II

what if i delete .pgo , .shared, .meta files..

Dear Community,

Please explain me,

1) what if i delete .pgo , .shared, .meta files,? what will happen?

2) when these files get created, updated?

3) how many files get created per document? or per server settings?

i have general idea about these files...and i have Qlikview server and desktop both 11.2 SR6.

reason to delete them, because i loose, document authorization and information setting very often,

in QMC >> User Document >> Authorization & Information...

Thanks

Khan

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II
Author

Solution told by QlikTech Support:

.........................................................

anyone having same issue please follow the below solution.........


This issue because of .Meta files,

remove the .meta files for those documents (Services must be stopped when removing these)?

It might be that they are corrupted and that would cause the information updated inside of it to be lost.

.meta files contains authorizations, category, document settings, so you will have set these

properties again after you removed them, but that should solve the issue and the settings will not be lost anymore after that action.


Kind Regards


Israr khan


Thanks to every one who replied, and special Thanks to QlikTech Support Team for quick Response....


Enjoy Qliking............     🙂

View solution in original post

12 Replies
ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

Hi Israr.

Basically there will be three types of files in your qlikview folder other then .QVW

1) .pgo file consist the license details (session , document , user CAl)

2) .meta file contains document properties details (i.e , document category, distribution list information e.t.c)

3) .Shared file contains the details of all the shared object created by the user for the respected report.

1) what if i delete .pgo , .shared, .meta files,? what will happen?

A) your information  like cal allocation your created objects like bookmarks will no more available.

2) when these files get created, updated?

A) When you allocate licence.

When you distribute document

When someone create some server objects

3) how many files get created per document? or per server settings?

A) Answered above

Regards

ASHFAQ

israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II
Author

Dear Ashfaq,

thanks for your answer.

actually, very often i loose settings for few documents, not for all.

i have around 100 documents, but few of them lost setting very often..and  i loose only Authorization and Information settings.

i dont know how to over come this problem, tired to apply settings again an again...

any suggestions...?

ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

Hi,

If you are loosing authorization, which means you are using DMS mode if i'm not wrong.

Do you somehow distribute this application.

If yes, Then I suggest to place this application in end user folder and run reload only task without any distribution.

If not the only option will be deleting .pgo file.

Regards

ASHFAQ

israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II
Author

we are using "single sign on" with active directory. and not sure about distribution.

and .pgo file get created with the same name as "document name" ?

and what could be the reason to get currapted .pgo files...??

i will try to delete for one document, and will see if it solve the problem..

ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

Yes,

DMS comes into picture with SSO.

There will be one .pgo per server not per document.

There is no specific reason behind corruption.

If you distribute this document there are chances that authorization may be removed.

try my above suggested solution.

I.e by placing that file in end user or access point folder and apply reload only schedule without any distribution.

Before you attempt with .pgo deletion.

Make sure to take proper backup of the same . In case you want to revert back

Regards

ASHFAQ

israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II
Author

Dear Ashfaq,

You wrote, "There will be one .pgo per server not per document"

But now i saw in my laptop, in the Documents Folder, i have  these 5 .pgo files.

i am confused....see the image please...

1.png

ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

Hi,

Here is the further description

BorrowedCalData.pgo

Keeps track of borrowed Client Access Licenses (CALs).

CalData.pgo

Keeps track of CALs.

IniData.pgo

Coordinated version of Settings.ini.

ServerCounters.pgo

Keeps track of statistics.

TicketData.pgo

Keeps track of tickets Logs

Regards

ASHFAQ

israrkhan
Specialist II
Specialist II
Author

Dear Ashfaq,

Thank you.

i got the information about .pgo files, but still unable to solve my problem.

and i am not distributing documents...

as you said 1 .pgo per server settings, so if i delete .pgo file, than i will lost settings(cals, Authorization and other setting) for all around 100 documents..and it will be very tough to assign settings for 100 documents again...

can not think to delete .pgo file...  🙂

any other suggestion???

ashfaq_haseeb
Champion III
Champion III

I could not think of any other alternate solution except .pgo deletion.

May be Bill Britt Can help us here.

Regards

ASHFAQ