Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

A switch based on values of 3 tables to put on sheet

Hi everybody! I'm a total newbie in Qlik and trying to make my first steps. I have a denormalized table (xlsx) containing the following (in real there much more fields,but these are the most meaningfull):

CompanyIDCompanyNameEndOfServiceContractIDContractDate
1ABC01.12.2013101.01.2005
1ABC01.12.2013201.01.2007
2ZZZ3
3ThirdOne401.01.2001
3ThirdOne501.01.2010
1ABC01.12.20137
3ThirdOne8

In the data load script I try to normalize it splitting into 3 tables - Companies, EOS and Contracts:

Comps:

Load

CompanyID,

CompanyName,

EndOfService

From src.xlsx (...);

EOS:

Load

CompanyID,

date(min(ContractDate)) as StartOfService

From src (...)

group by CompanyID;

Contracts:

Load

CompanyID,

ContractID,

ContractDate

From src (...)

The earliest date of contract for a company is the Start of Service date. According to the table, I have 3 types of companies: 1. "Old" - we had contracts with it, but they came to an end (StartOfService not null, EndOfService not null. Example is CompanyID=1) 2. "Project" - we have the company in our DB, but have never had a contract with it (SOS null, EOS null. Example is CID=2) 3. "Active" - we have at least one active contract with it (SOS not null, EOS null. Example is CID=3). I need to put some kind of 3-way switch on the sheet to filter the data.

What way(s) of implementing it do I have? Build another table with field of 'status' based on nested IF and using a join of 3 tables as a data source? Or there is an easier way? Thanks in advance!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

Solved for me.

TempOrgs:

LOAD * FROM src(...);

OrgDta:

Mapping LOAD CID,

date(min([ContractDate]))as SOS

resident TempOrgs

group by CID;

Comps:

LOAD