Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Calculate hours between two Date/Time strings

Hi,

I was wondering if someone would be able to help me with this query.  I am new to Qlikview and have created a straight chart where all my information goes into.   I have created a new column which I called Time (log-close).

In that new column I want to be able to calculate in hours, the difference between a field called closedate(which is a date/time field 01/01/2010 09:00:00) and a field called logdate (which is also a date time field 01/01/2010 09:00:00).

To calculate the difference I used the following expression: Interval (closedate - logdate), which gave me the correct hours:minutes:seconds. 

However our business hours are only between 08:00 - 18:00.  Therefore if we had the example 1 below, at the moment the hours would show as 49:00:00.  However as we are not interested in time before 08:00 and after 18:00, the correct time should show as 20:00:00.

To make matters more complicated we are also not interested in weekends, therefore in example 2, the way we currently have it the hours would show as 66:00:00 (as the dates are over the weekend), however the correct time should show as 04:00:00 (as this will ignore times after 18:00 and also the whole of Saturday and Sunday).

Is there a way this can be done?

Example 1:

Logdate - 01/08/2012 09:00:00

Closedate - 03/8/2012 10:00:00

Example 2:

Logdate - 03/08/2012 15:00:00

Closedate - 06/08/2012 09:00:00

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Your interval seems to be static, i.e. not depending on selections, so I would implement the calculation in the script.

This could look like:

Set TimestampFormat = 'M/D/YY hh:mm TT';

Set vHol = '41130,41140';

INPUT:

LOAD *, recno() as ID INLINE [

DT1, DT2

8/9/12 11:08 AM,8/9/12 2:57 PM