Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Checking for New/Deleted Records

Hello Everyone!

I am new to qlikview and am currently working on a difficult problem and I am in need of some suggestions. 

What I am tasked to do is read in files where each file contains data from one day. I bring them in using a "for each next" loop and eventually, I am left with one qlikview table containing all the records from each day. My goal is to be able to select two dates and then compare the records from each. In particular, I am looking for which records are deleted and which records are new. To be clear, deleted records will not be found on a future file and new records will not be found on a past file.

My initial solution was to create a second qlikview table with all the field names renamed to Fieldname_2 and associatively join them through a common field name. That way, when I make my date selections, table 1 will house the first date's records and table 2 will house the second date's records. I would then check for where the length of an arbitrary field on table 2 was equal to zero and then return the corresponding value from the other table. This failed seemingly because qlikview was not recognizing where deleted records fell off or where new records would began.

I then tried forcing those new/deleted records to show themselves using recno() in the hopes that recno() would populate the unpopulated rows that correspond to the new/deleted records. This failed.

I then tried using the lookup() function which, as I read on here, is similar to the vlookup function in excel. This failed. (Quick note here, I was obviously able to find the deleted/new records in excel using the vlookup).

From there, I stumbled on the mapping load/applymap functions but that was also a bust.