cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
aftabn10
Contributor III
Contributor III

Count Based on Max Week Ending Date

Hi, I am new to the world of Qlik and I am trying to develop a dashboard with a few measures. The first measure that I would like is to display a count of a column based on the max week ending date. The following is an example of the data (based on an sql query that I have)

we_date | count(*)

2019-09-06 | 914
2019-09-13 | 416

I then wrote the following expression:

Count({$<Date={$(= max (we_date))}>}product_name)

but this displays a total of 1330 which is a sum of 914+416 so not sure where I am going wrong.

I would appreciate it if somebody could advise on how I could fix this.

Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
aftabn10
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi, I have managed to solve the issue yay!

I changed to code to:

=Count( {$<we_date_num = {$(vWeekEndingMax)} >} product_name )

It was a case of adding an equal sign before count but this still showed as 0 but when I added an equal sign to my other variable vWeekEndingMax

=Max(we_date_num) then this started working

I would love to know what I should be using as I have been looking through the forums and seen so many examples without the equal sign so would love an explanation.

Thank you all for your help

View solution in original post

12 Replies
DavidM
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II

I think you're missing quoutes:

Count({$<Date={"$(= max (we_date))"}>}product_name)

aftabn10
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi DavidM thanks for your response. Unfortunately adding the quotes made no difference. I am starting to think if this has anything to do with the data type of the we_date column as I just don't get why the max element isn't being picked up.

DavidM
Partner - Creator II
Partner - Creator II