Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Date Variable in Set Analysis

Dear experts,

I am quite new in qlikview and having a problem with working variables with dates. My date fields seems correct but I can not get correctly work sum function with variable filter in set analysis.

I have attached a sample app and your help will be appreciated.

Thanks, !

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

Try this:

Sum({<[Apprv. Dt.]={"<=$(=Date(vCalcDate, 'MM-DD-YYYY'))"}>}GWP)

Default format for your date field is MM-DD-YYYY, so you need to specify your date within set analysis in that same format. Read here about Dates in Set Analysis

View solution in original post

6 Replies
sunny_talwar

Try this:

Sum({<[Apprv. Dt.]={"<=$(=Date(vCalcDate, 'MM-DD-YYYY'))"}>}GWP)

Default format for your date field is MM-DD-YYYY, so you need to specify your date within set analysis in that same format. Read here about Dates in Set Analysis

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Dear Sunny,

Thanks for this rapid response. I got your point but one more thing to clarified. I have already define date format in load script as below

LET vCalcDate =Date(Date#('08/31/2016','MM/DD/YYYY'),'MM/DD/YYYY');

Why do I need to define it again in set analysis ?

Thank you for taking the time.

sunny_talwar

The problem I foresee is that variable in script as stored as text, it might create issue, but until tested, I won't be 100% sure. Is this not working in your case?

johnw
Champion III
Champion III

To avoid the need to get the date format correct, I like using... I think I first saw it in a post by troyansky? Apologies if I'm improperly attributing it, and apologies if I get this syntax a little wrong. I'm eternally slightly messing up my set analysis and needing to fix it.