cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Display dates in slider object

Hi,

I am new to QlikView; I have a slider object, mapped to a field that represents 2 year's worth of dates to which data is assigned - therefore, I cannot create a slider object that will show all the dates, as it would be way too long for the screen. The slider object is multi-value, as the user needs to select a date range, and it has 1 minor unit for each of the 12 major units. The problem I have is that you cannot accurately determine the "start" date before selecting it to begin the date range selection, because the date value is not displayed - for example, if one of the major units is '3-22-2011', and I want to start a date range from "3-1-2011', it is a guess to determine where to click between the minor and major unit, as the date value is not displayed until you click within the slider - if it's wrong, you have to clear the selection and try again. A calendar object is not suitable because the user needs to be able to select a date range across multiple months.

Is there a way to display the date value that the mouse is hovering over within the slider, before you click within the slider object?

Thank you,

VB

15 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi V B,

Instead of Slider, you can try another way for selecting the date range.

it looks like below image in a easy way i.e; through listbox.

Date,Month,Year.PNG

You can split the date field into three parts i.e; Day, Month , Year

Day = Day(DateField)

Year = Year(DateField)

Month = Month(DateField)

I don't know exactly whether it is possible to display the date value that the mouse is hovering over within the slider.

Try this it may be helpful to you.

Regards

Ravi.

stephencredmond
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi VB,

If you need the users to select Start/End, then I would use two calendar controls and then a button to apply the selection.

See attached example.

Stephen