Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Duplication Issue when joining tables

Hi,

I am relatively new to QlikView and am having an issue when joining two tables.   In my load script, I have an orders table and a shipment table.  From orders, I am creating a sum of an order quantity field and receipt quantity field.  In my shipment table, I am creating a sum of a shipped quantity field.  Seperate, both work perfect.  However, when I join the tables, I am getting a duplication.  I have been able to identify why this is happening, from a data perspective, but have not been able to resolove it in QV. 

The reason behind the duplication is that on the shipment table, I have the following data:

ORDER NO

LINE NO

INVOICE NO

ENTRY NO

I am joining the two tables on ORDER NO and LINE NO, which in 99% of the orders, it works fine.  However, there are times when an order line # can have multiple shipment records in the shipment table, with distinct entry/invoice #'s.  For example:

SHIPMENT:

ORDER_NO     LINE_NO     ENTRY_NO     INVOICE_NO     SHIP QTY

69589              2                 1719820-4        SSL228679        150

69589              2                 1719821-2        SSL228678          50

69589              1                 1720225-3        SSL228669        150

69589              1                  1720224-6       SSL228677         250

For that ORDER #, the orders table looks like this:

ORDER:

ORDER_NO     LINE_NO     ORDER QTY    RECEIPT QTY

69589              2                  200                 100

69589              1                  500                 400