Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Dynamic Matrix (Columns, Rows, and data)

Hello there QlikViewers,

I am new to QlikView

I have a "star-schema" composed of 3 dimensions : Program, PartCategory, and Provider,

and of course a 4th "keys" table which contains the references to each of the 3 dimensions.

schema.PNG

Let me first clarify the vocabulary and use examples to explain.
Let's say my company is Porsche : we build cars throughout our plants.

- Each different car model is a "Program" (Boxster, Cayman, 911 Carrera S)
- Every car model is composed of the same generic part categories (Engine, Windshield, Audio System, Brakes)
- A provider is either one of our plants that build parts for specific models, or a supplier (Stuttgart Plant A, Brembo, Bang & Olufsen, Bosch, Munich Plant B)

For 1 Part category for 1 model is associated 1 Provider :

- example 1 : "The WINDSHIELD for our BOXTER is supplied by our MUNICH PLANT B",

- example 2 : "The WINDSHIELD for our CAYMAN is supplied by STUTTGART PLANT A"

- example 3 : "The BRAKES for the PORSCHE 911 CARRERA S is made by our supplier BREMBO"

and so on.

What I would like is a matrix (table) where my columns are the different Part Categories entries (from my PartCategory table)
and the rows are the different Program entries (from my Program table). At the intersection of a Column and Row (example : at the intersection of the "WINDSHIELD" column and the "CAYMAN" row is the Provider : STUTTGART PLANT A)

example.PNG

is this possible with QV? Can both the ROWS and COLUMNS be filled with the data from respective tables (and even possibly according to the current selections)?

I hope I was clear enough for you guys, don't hesitate to ask any further questions if you need more explanations or examples

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rbecher
MVP
MVP

Hi Dominique,

if you cannot rebuild it here we go:

Create a pivot table chart with those two dimesnions: