Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Expression-fed variable not returning the anticipated value

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to QlikView and have learned a great deal so far from all of your super advice by reading discussions on a variety of topics.  This time, however, I couldn't find an answer to my question so I thought it best to ask you directly.

I am tasked with creating a line chart where the results of different list box picks are filtered down in the chart results.  No problem - that's how a chart works in QV.  When a user makes multiple selections from the CallWeekEnding list box (which contains a week ending date for each week), the chart should create a new line.  This will allow users to compare one week's results to another week. The chart dimension will be a daily (Monday - Sunday) breakdown.  Users will be able to select/compare up to 4 weeks.

This caused me to think about set analysis.  But, how do I capture and isolate individual selections from the CallWeekEnding list box?  And how do I take those selections and graph them separately?  Here is my thought process.  Isolate individual selections by creating expression-fed variables.  Use the values of those variables in separate expressions in the chart so that each expression is graphed separately.  It seemed like a great plan, but it didn't work.