Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
marcelo_7
Creator
Creator

FieldValue returning NULL when a previous value reoccurs

Hello,

I'm new to Qlikview and this might have a very simple solution but I'm really struggling.

I'm extracting values from two fields (city, region) and some cites are in the same region.

Example:

City       Region

City1     RegionA

City2     RegionA

Script:

LOAD City,

Region

FROM

(biff, embedded labels, table is Sheet1$);

let x = FieldValue('Region', 1);

let y = FieldValue('Region', 2);

In debug this would give me x = RegionA but y = <NULL>.

If I instead used the following

let x = FieldValue('Region', 1);

let y = FieldValue('Region', 1);

This would give me x = RegionA and y = RegionA

In the reference for FieldValue NULL is given when the number is larger than the rows in the document and that's not the case, please help! Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

A field can contain values of different tables (if used as key field). Fieldvalue() will access all distinct values of that field (think of it more like the list box object) while peek() will only access values of one table (if you don't state the table name, the current table used in the load will be used) and it does so row based, so also retrieving duplicate values (think of it more like a table object, but showing all rows (like using rowno() as dimension).

Hence, fieldvalue() and peek() both have their meaningful use, but in your case, I guess you want to use peek().

View solution in original post

6 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Are you sure about the reference statement?

I believe the fieldvalue index references the distinct values of that field in load order, it has nothing to do with table rows.

As far as I remember the index starts with one  and you only have one distinct value in your table, RegionA.