Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cbushey1
Creator III
Creator III

How long were they here?

Hi there,

I am trying to figure out how long someone was here. Let me describe my data model and then the scenario.

Data Model:

I have two main dates (Start_Date and End_Date).

I have a Master calendar built off a canonical date (thanks to hic‌ blog post on Canonical dates).

Goal:

I am hoping to count how long someone was here based on what max MonthYear available.

Scenario:

Start_Date = 01/15/16

End_Date = 03/05/16

User selects MasterCalendar Month = Feb.

*I need to return 28 in this scenario as that is the number of days in Feb and this patient was here the whole month.

** Here is what I have that works well if the patient has a Start_Date or End_Date that is in one of the months the user selects when they click on [MasterCalendar Month], however if the patient has a Start_Date and End_Date outside the bounds they are not counted.

=Floor(Sum(aggr(If(END_DATE <= MonthsEnd(1,Max([MasterCalendar MonthYear])), Date(END_DATE), MonthsEnd(1,Max([MasterCalendar MonthYear]))) -
If(START_DATE > MonthsStart(1,Min([MasterCalendar MonthYear])), Date(START_DATE), MonthsStart(1,Min([MasterCalendar MonthYear]))),ACCOUNT_NO) +1))

Thanks

6 Replies
marcus_sommer

One possibility might be to match your start and end dates with the master-calendar per IntervalMatch. Another could be the use of set analysis, maybe something like this:

count({< Date = {"=Date>=Start_Date<=End_date"}>} Date)

- Marcus

cbushey1
Creator III
Creator III
Author

Hi Marcus,

Thank you for the reply but I am not sure IntervalMatch will work in this case since my Master Calendar was actually built off both of those fields by way of canonical date.