Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Mapping QDS (QVB.exe) PID to Executing Tasks

Is anyone aware of a way to link running QDS tasks to the active QVB.exe PIDs on the server?  Support have no idea how to do this, and I just don't understand how this is not possible!? I'm relatively new to QV, so hopefully I'm just missing something really obvious (this seems like such a basic requirement for any enterprise deployment). 

The QDS currently logs log the process ID at the END of the task log (which is a bit useless):

12/14/2011 23:58:43.2388534     Information     Closed the QlikView Engine successfully. ProcessID=9544

I have created an "idea" for this enhancement: http://community.qlik.com/ideas/2193

But hopefully someone can tell me a way of doing this with a config tweak...

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

Unfortunately not.  I was told by support to "create an idea".  No movement yet as far as I know.  Please vote for it if you think it would be useful. 

http://community.qlik.com/ideas/2193

There unfortunately does not appear to be much appetite to address issues like this and enhance the product.  The standard line from support is to "create an Idea", where it then languishes.  It's a real shame, as this seems like such a trivial thing to address (i.e. moving a trace statement in the code).

If you find a way of doing it, please let me know.  For now, we are resorting to tracking QDS task start times back to the time processes were launched, which is less than ideal.

Thanks

Graeme

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

Did you find a way to map the QVB to a PID??

Thanks,

Mithun

Not applicable
Author

Unfortunately not.  I was told by support to "create an idea".  No movement yet as far as I know.  Please vote for it if you think it would be useful.