cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Order of IRR payments

I'm struggling to get an IRR() calc to work correctly. I have a payment row for each month, and the data table is sorted by month. I'm doing something like:

IRR(Debit + Credit + Value)

I get an incorrect result because it appears the IRR is not processing the payments in the month order, but rather in load order of the values. I can confirm that by generating the list of payments  using concat() as input to a RangeIRR function. That gives the correct result if I sort the list by month.

Anyone encounter this and have a workaround?

Thanks,

Rob

28 Replies
sunny_talwar

Rob, I have never used IRR in QV before and I don't know if I will be able to offer any help or not, but if you have a small sample to look at, I can def. spend some time looking at it

rubenmarin

Hi, I didn't have used that function either and I don't have a QV12 here to test but.. can the new sort option for aggr give a help?

Something like: IRR(Aggr(Sum(Value), (DateField(Numeric, ascending))))

The sortable Aggr function is finally here!

sunny_talwar

Just tried with Aggr() function, it isn't working for some reason

sunny_talwar

Rob the closest I was able to get was this:

=XIRR(Payments, Aggr(YearStart(Min(TOTAL Date), RowNo()), (Date, (NUMERIC))))

This gives 16.33% whereas help says that it should be 16.34% (IRR - chart function ‒ QlikView)

I changed the order of the payments from the sample in help

Cashflow:

LOAD 2013 as Year,

Inline [

Date|Discount|Payments

2013-01-01|0.1|-10000

2013-10-30|0.1|4200

2013-03-01|0.1|3000

2014-02-01|0.2|6800

] (delimiter is '|');

Just using the straight IRR gives 17.15%

rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Author