Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Qlikview saves data in bad format in QVD

I have had a heck of a time figuring out what was going on with values in my Qlikview application. I work in the healthcare field and we use something called ICD 9/10 codes to link diagnoses to patients.

These codes should be handled as varchar data because some codes are numeric (ex: 397) and some are alpha numeric (ex: V41.1). The problem I had was Qlikview would concatenate two codes together when it thought they were the same (ex: 397.0 and 397) became the same code. This caused problems with linking into the diagnosis table because two rows were being returned.

I spent a significant amount of time trying to use the text(), dual() and num() functions to try to fix this problem, but nothing worked no matter what I did.

It was not until I went back to our data architects (and spending 2 hours) that we realized Qlikview was storing the bad data into the QVD I was working from.

This means we had to code the dual(columnname, format) into the QVD load as once it was stored it could not be fixed by the application developers.

I spent a solid 4 hours trying to figure out why this was broken and just wanted to make sure there was an explanation for the next person.

6 Replies
dclark0699
Creator
Creator

We encountered this exact issue with ICD9/10 codes. I think when determining the column type for the QVD, Qlikview likely profiles the first x number of rows. So if they are all numeric, it becomes a number field.

What I did to work around it was an inline table load of a text value into the column that will store the code and then dropped that table after loading the data I wanted.

For example

_TEMP:

LOAD TEXT(DX_CD) as DX_CD INLINE [

DX_CD

V41.1

];

//Load Diagnosis info

DROP TABLE _TEMP;

maxgro
MVP
MVP