Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

SELECT vs. LOAD Statements

I've been using QV for 40 hours a week for the last 6 months so I like to think that I have some idea what I'm doing. However, I have VERY little SQL experience or knowledge. I don't have access to the huge database tables at work yet so I've been getting all of my data mainly from .csvs and other sources where you use LOAD statements.

Pretty soon I'll be getting access to the huge tables and I'll need to use SELECT statements on the databases. Is everything going to change or is it going to be pretty much the same thing as what I've been doing? I know in SQL you have to do joins ON something and you can nest SELECT statements which is something I don't really understand. I'm assuming (and hoping) that I can just do 2 different SELECT statements and then do the joins on resident tables like I've been doing so I can bypass all of this join ON and nested SELECT statement stuff... is this an accurate assumption or do I just need to learn to do it the right way? Are there certain situations where nesting SELECT statements are a must?

Thanks in advance.

6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

I typically do a simple SQL select * from table right below the LOAD statement. I rarely use resident tables. I let QlikView do the join based on the names. Why would you use nested SELECT? Maybe you meant sub-queries. QlikView will simply pass whatever SQL statement you put in without any validation and let the database decide if the SQL was correct. If you need to write advanced SQL statements, I would suggest that you write it outside of QlikVIew, make sure it works and then copy paste in QlikVIew SQL.

Regards,

Dinesh.

Not applicable
Author