Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Security for Multiple Users

Hi all,

(I'm new to Qlikview so feel free to point me to any reading material at any time. I come from a SQL server background)

I have a model that contains data for multiple offices. I want to use the UserID (that a user logs into the Model with) to limit the data that is displayed to specifc offices.

My approach based on my limited knowledge is to somehow set the default value of my StaffOffice field from staff Dimension to a certain value based on the login id. So basically:

1. Is it possible to reference the UserID that a person logs in with (to variable perhaps)?
  2. Is it possible to set select a defalt value from a dimension and prevent any tampering? For example Using the my Office field from my staff Dimension can I select a value based on some criteria when the model loads (perhaps a macro?)

Any assistance is welcome .... gonna go read up a bit now.

Cheers.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

Autorization of users, both for access (application, sheet and object) as for datafiltering, is done bij Section Access and Section Application in the Hidden script of your application. You can read everything about this in your QlikView Reference Manual (page 514, 'Security using the Section Access in the QlikView script').

With this it is possible to:

1. Use the network username to grant access to the application or parts of the application
  2. Add a profile in which you name your dimension and the value per profile

If you have additional questions, just let us know!

Regards, Sander

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi,