Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Set analysis

Hi,

I am new to qlikview and I am having difficulty in creating an expression in giving me the sum of "hrsbudmth" for the latest period only regardless if another period is selected

My period has a date attached which is in dd/mm/yyyy format.

At present my expression is:

=sum({<peendtnum = {$(=max(peendtnum))}>} hrsbudmth)

I am converting the date to a number in my load statement hence the name peendtnum.

I have looked at other set analysis blogs but cannot work out why my expression is changing if I select another period?

Any help would be appreciated!

9 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

There may be other fields influencing the possible max value. To make the expression ignore all other expressions use: =sum({1<peendtnum = {$(=max({1}peendtnum))}>} hrsbudmth)

If you want to ignore selections in specific fields use something like:

=sum({<MyField1=, MyField2=, peendtnum = {$(=max({1}peendtnum))}>} hrsbudmth)

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Not applicable
Author

Thanks for the quick reply Gysbert.

value 0213 = 100.00

value 0113 = 50.00

I have tried your formula:

=sum({1<peendtnum = {$(=max(peendtnum))}>} hrsbudmth)

When I do not select a period from my period list box the value in my box (Current Month) shows the amount (100.00) for the lastest period (0213), however when I select period 0113 the amount changes to the value relating to 0113 (50.00) when I want this to stay as 100.00.

As I have another box called (Previous month) which is where the 50.00 should appear.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

You have to create a variable :

vPeendtnum=Max({1}peendtnum)

Then your formula will be:

=sum({<peendtnum={"$(=(vPeendtnum))"}>} hrsbudmth)

Not applicable
Author

I've just tried to create the variable within the load statement but the variable comes back with nothing?

LOAD pe,

peendt,