Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Switch..case..default..end switch

Hi All, I'm very new at Qlikview, and i want to see an example of how to se the switch case statement, can anyone help with that?

I need to put a value in a field wich is loaded, depending on the values of other fields. For example, i need to load the field Category, with the value "YES" if the field Managment have the value = 1 and the field Ticket have the value = 2, and with a "NO" if it doesnt have those values. I can use an if in this example, but in the real thing, i'm with a little more expressions to evaluate.

Can anyone give me an example on how to use the case clause for loading a field depending on the values of others?

Thank you very much!

8 Replies
prieper
Master II
Master II

Hi,

The Switch ... functionality refers only to individual steps in the script. Think that you will be better off with a normal "IF"-statement

LOAD *, IF(Field1 = 'Management', 'YES', 'NO') AS Evaluation
FROM ....

HTH

Peter

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Juan,

You can find a good example of "switch" in QV help.
I think though, if I got the requirements right, that you need a conditional field definition rather than conditional script flow. It could be:
LOAD
if(Managment=1 and Ticket=2, 'Yes', 'No') as Category
RESIDENT...;

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Peter, you beat me again Big Smile

Not applicable
Author

Thank you very much guys, I have another question to ask regarding the "exists" function.

I searched in the Help documentation, but i couldn't find if this function works with more than one parameter per field, i mean: exists(field, value1, value2, value3,...), is that ok?

The normal procedure is to test this on my own, but i'm not able to do this yet on my work, and i'm trying to advance my work locally.

Thank you very much again.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Juan,