Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
siva0606
Contributor III
Contributor III

Unit Cost Trends by Item

Hi all,

I am new to Qlikview.

1) I need to put a chart on "UnitCost Trends by ItemName" .

The available fields are ItemName, UnitCost, Year, Month and Day.

2) I also need to analyse which item has Purchased more time.

Please help me in building the above two charts.

Regards,

Sivasu

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
datanibbler
Champion
Champion

Hi Sivasubramanian,

so you have some kind of base table with these fields? May I assume that in that table, there is one line for every item purchased/sold?

In that case, build a barchart/ combochart with

- dimension "day" (you might consider using a master_calendar)

- expression "UnitCost" - you can just make an expression_displayed_as_line to visualize the trend.

- expression "COUNT(UnitCost)" - that will tell you the nr. of items you have (sold/purchased) on a given day.

=> Use two y-axis (one left, one right) to avoid problems with the scale

=> Go from there and build up your chart any way you want to. QlikView gives you all the possibilities - well, a great many anyway.

HTH

Best regards,

DataNibbler

View solution in original post

6 Replies
jvitantonio
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hello,

1) Use Day and ItemName as Dimensions and use sum(UnitCost) in your expressions.

2) You can create a straight table with ItemName as dimension and count(ItemName) as expression. Then sort this column Descending.

JV

BI Experience | A place to share our Business Intelligence experiences

datanibbler
Champion
Champion

Hi Sivasubramanian,

so you have some kind of base table with these fields? May I assume that in that table, there is one line for every item purchased/sold?

In that case, build a barchart/ combochart with

- dimension "day" (you might consider using a master_calendar)

- expression "UnitCost" - you can just make an expression_displayed_as_line to visualize the trend.