Skip to main content
Announcements
Live today at 11 AM ET. Get your questions about Qlik Connect answered, or just listen in. SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
riyazasma1009
Creator
Creator

Using relative paths in variables

Hi All,

I have a vbscript which performs the action of reducing data(File - > Reduce Data -> Select Possible).

Set MyApp = CreateObject("QlikTech.QlikView")
Set MyDoc = MyApp.OpenDocEx(vFilePath,0,False)
MyDoc.ReduceData
MyDoc.SaveAs(vFilePath)
MyDoc.CloseDoc
Set MyApp = Nothing

vFilePath contains the absolute file path of the qvw to be reduced. The issue here is the above code does not work when relative paths are used in vFilePath whereas it works perfectly fine for absolute paths.

Can anyone please help me with the same.

Thanks,

Asma

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcus_sommer

I have had now a look on google to relative paths within vbs and it seems that there is no native way to execute them. What I have found are various kinds of workarounds to generate a fullpath and here is one possible solution adapted to qlikview:

sub Test

dim vTest, vFolderCount

vTest= "\applications other\calendar4-5-4.qvw"

vFolderCount = len(vTest) - len(replace(vTest, "\", ""))

vTest = ActiveDocument.evaluate("left(DocumentPath(), index(DocumentPath(), '\', " & -vFolderCount & ") - 1)") & vTest

msgbox vTest

call ReduceData(vTest)

end sub

- Marcus

View solution in original post

6 Replies
marcus_sommer

AFAIK relative paths do work in vbs. Therefore I think that your relative path isn't correct and/or the syntax isn't right and you might need additionally double-quotes around the path.

- Marcus

riyazasma1009
Creator
Creator
Author

Hi Marcus,

The folder structure is as shown below:

The Qlikview file containing the macro code for reducing data is present in folder B.

The folder Application contains the qvw file to be reduced.

In the vbscript, I have given the relative path as:

dim vTest