Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

What questions need to ask?

Dear All,

I have 2 years of qlikview development experience.

now I joined in new company.  Where the company doesn't have any documentations or architecture diagram or Requirement Document.

To understand their structure what questions I need to ask.  I can't understand what to do now.  because i have only back end development experience with little front end knowledge.  And all the qlikview team has limited knowledge at workplace.

detail answers will be more appreciated.

thanks in advance.

regards,

Heema

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

That is a very open question, but you could approach it something like this.

Presuming they have AccessPoint, you should be able to see what dashboard qvw's they have and for each of them you could ask things like things like:

• Who uses it ?
  • Why do they use it ?
  • What data is in it ?
  • What QVD's do they use to load it ?

They must also have data sources which hopefully feed into QVD generator qvw's, then for each QVD generator you could ask things like :

• What are the data sources ?
  • What transformations are done to the data ?
  • Why are these transformations done ?
  • What QVD's are produced ?

Then you should be able to draw a diagram / flow chart of all the :

• Data sources
  • QVD Generator qvw's
  • QVD's
  • Dashboard qvw's
  • People

Don't worry if the diagram is less than perfect, the imperfections should hopefully prod you into what other questions need to be asked.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
petter
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

It is hard to help you if you don't tell us what you are supposed to deliver. Is it a single application? If so what kind of application is it? What kind of industry is it? Which are the stakeholders? Who is the sponsor for the project(s)?