Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
paulista
Contributor III
Contributor III

Which is the best way to perform an operation on already loaded table

Hi ,

I am new to Qlikview and want to perform following operation which i did in Teradata on the already loaded tables in qlikview

SELECT Count (DISTINCT hdr_corr_id), HDR_EVT_TYPE FROM
(
SELECT HDR_CORR_ID,HDR_EVT_TYPE,max_date
FROM JOURNEY_VIEW b
INNER JOIN
(SELECT HDR_CORR_ID AS id,Max(HDR_TIMESTAMP) AS max_date
FROM jOURNEY_VIEW
GROUP BY HDR_CORR_ID) a
ON b.hdr_corr_id=a.id
AND max_date=hdr_timestamp
) TAB
GROUP BY HDR_EVT_TYPE

WHat would be best way to do it , in the script or front end.

If its a script what would be the best possible script 

Also i can do this in Extract statement when i Load the data --would it be a good practice.

Thanks 

Labels (3)
3 Replies
Anil_Babu_Samineni

You can simply use this in Qlik

Table:

Load *;

SQL SELECT Count (DISTINCT hdr_corr_id), HDR_EVT_TYPE FROM
(
SELECT HDR_CORR_ID,HDR_EVT_TYPE,max_date
FROM JOURNEY_VIEW b
INNER JOIN
(SELECT HDR_CORR_ID AS id,Max(HDR_TIMESTAMP) AS max_date
FROM jOURNEY_VIEW
GROUP BY HDR_CORR_ID) a
ON b.hdr_corr_id=a.id
AND max_date=hdr_timestamp
) TAB
GROUP BY HDR_EVT_TYPE;

Store Table into 'Path/Table.qvd';

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful
paulista
Contributor III
Contributor III
Author

Hi Anil,

this is what i am doing, but creating a QVD for a simple calculation, would it make sense?is it preferable to store a number of QVD's?

how can i do it in just in Resident Load or just in Set Analysis 

Brett_Bleess
Former Employee
Former Employee