Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

SAP BW Analysis Authorizations in Qlikview

Hey guys,

i am pretty new to Qlikview, coming from BW/BO world with several BW customers.

I am struggling around with the topic of bringing BW analysis authorizations into qlikview.

I now know that QLikview have a corresponding feature to give authorizations on data level for different users.

But now that we have invested in implementing our BW analysis authorizations in the past, we want to leverage that and build one point, where the data security is defined (this should be the bw system).

I know here is min. 1 person, Yaniv Feldman, which has implemented such a thing like extracting those auths from BW.

I need more details to give a information basis for a strategic decision pro or con qlik as new BW frontend.

Could you, yaniv, or anybody which has already made such an integration give me more infos on how this could work?

Thx a lot in advance!

BR,

Tobias

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Tobias

We use BW traditional tools (BEx) for detailed analysis and QlikView for Dashboarding.

We chose to maintain ALL analysis authorizations for QlikView using BW as a source. This means that we required all QV users to have BW licenses and modeled the BW authorization concept within QlikView.

The reasons that we chose that were:

1. Unlike BW, QlikView can be very problematic in terms of data governance. Since we can easily manage, maintain and monitor analysis authorizations in BW - we figured that the best solution for QV is to create an exact replica of these analysis authorizations in QV (this means that you need to understand all the BW authorization table schema and extract it). All the management/maintenance work on authorizations in done in BW (RSECADMIN, PFCG etc...).