Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Quamie
Contributor II
Contributor II

Assistance with Data Modeling or Expressions

Hi All,

I'm a beginner and I'm having an issue with my data modeling, or my Expressions, or the way I've built this dashboard, or all three!

-------------

Issue: I'm unable to get data from my open reqs table and headcount table to effectively load together in a chart. (Headcount+Open Reqs = Projected Headcount)

I say effectively, because while I have developed an expression that works, it has an immense loading time, and sometimes fails to load (Out of object Memory).

Count({<MonthEnd_Flag={"1"}>}Distinct([Person Number]))+
Count({<ReqMonthEnd_Flag={"1"}>}Distinct(if(Text(Date(ReqDateField,'MMM')&'-'&Year(ReqDateField))=MonthYear,[Req. Identifier])))

The above produces the correct data, but as I said, the load times are immense. 

Qlik5.png

--------------

The purpose of the dashboard is to calculate some basic HR data, such as headcount, turnover, open requisitions, etc.

Here is my current data model;

Qlik2.PNG

The headcount data works fine (although load times are around 1.5 minutes due to creating unique date fields for each record, maybe there was a better way to do this?)

The main issue centers around integrating the OpenReqs table into the data module. I'm unable to map the OpenReqs table directly to the Calendar and Hierarchy, as it would cause a loop. I attempted to circumvent the issue by loading the OpenReqs table twice, one to connect it to the calendar, and the other to connect it to my hierarchy tables. 

I'm using the hierarchy and hierarchybelongsto functions to create a tree-view(s) of my desired data;

E.g;

Qlik3.png

Qlik4.png

I have a feeling that creating a _DateField record for each individual record (resulting in ~2 million records) is part of the problem. ☹️