Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kstroupe
Creator
Creator

Avg Days in Que

Hello,

I am very new to QlikView but I hoping someone has figured this out already.  I need to count the number of defects for a week. Get the Sum of the days the defect was open and then take the count of the ttl defects for the week / sum of the days the defect was open.  Put this on a graph by week and figure out the Avg Days the defects were open. Any idea how to get this started? 

Here is an example of the data.  I have two ways to possibly do this.

defect 1 was created 1/2/13 and closed on 2/16/13 therefore it must be counted every week from 1/2 until it closes.

7 Replies
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Kim,

From your explanation, it's not too clear what is the required formula: "count of the ttl defects for the week / sum of the days the defect was open" is not the same as "the Avg Days the defects were open".

The solution could be different depending on how do you want to count defects vs. weeks. For example, if the defect was open on 1/2/13 and it was open for 6 weeks - would you like to count a single defect in the week it was open and the duration of 6 weeks, or would you like to count the event in each week while it was open (6 times in this example), with the duration of 6 weeks?

It would be much simpler if you associated the defect with the week it was either open or closed. If you had to count it in every week while it's open, the solutions are quite complex, unless your dataset is very small and you can afford using IF statements...

I'd be happy to help you if you'd like to clarify your requirement a little bit...

Oleg Troyansky

www.naturalsynergies.com

kstroupe
Creator
Creator
Author

Oleg,