Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Count presence of an item in the next 4 months

Hello all,

I'm trying to make a gauge in my application which will count how many application forms end in the next 4 months. Each application form has an end end, so technically i want to count how many dates appear from the current date up to 4 months in the future. As I'm new in Qlikview I find it a bit hard to write the right expression. At the moment I have:

Count({Period={ '>=$(Date=Addmonths(Max(Date#(Period,'YYYYMM')), +4), 'YYYYMM'))' }>}[Appl End Date])

which counts (something), but with not the right results.

Thanks in advance for your help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Maybe

CODEHERE = "<=$(=addmonths(today(),4))>=$(=today())"

(I use double quotes indicating search string)

to get date range between today and four months from today.

Stefan

View solution in original post

6 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Is your Period of type date or is it a string?

If it is a string, try this

Count({Period={ '<=$(=Date(Addmonths(Max(Date#(Period,'YYYYMM')), 4), 'YYYYMM'))>$(=maxstring(Period)) ' }>} [Appl End Date])

if it is of type date (but maybe formatted to YYYYMM), maybe this:

Count({Period={ '<=$(=Addmonths(Max(Period), 4))>$(=max(Period)) ' }>} [Appl End Date])

I guess, in both cases you have more fields of type date, probably a date from which you generated the Period.

You might need to clear the selections for some / all of these date fields, because your set expression will keep the current selection, which might limit the set expression to a different selection than you intend.

For point in time reporting like this, see also

http://iqlik.wordpress.com/2010/11/27/the-magic-of-set-analysis-point-in-time-reporting/

{There is also explained why and how to clear those field selections}