Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Need an Expression for Full Accumulation/Cumulative in a Pivot table

I have a Table with a Cost Type Column containing: Obligated, Actual's and Projected across a Month Dimension ranging from Jan-2012 into Feb-2013 a rolling calendar so YTD wont be useful. I just need a 'simple' Cumulative running total based off my set analysis sample below.

I need get have a Cumulative summation from Cost type Obligated & Actual.  See Image below for ref.

The problem is Full accumulation only works in a Chart not a table. I'm new at this so I need a good starting point.

My Measure is : Amount

The Expression I use to display the Obligated Columns is: Sum({$<[Cost Type]={"Obligated*"}>}Amount)

This works fine. But if I want to compare my Actuals against my Obligated Funds which may not be in that Month then its shows I ran out of Funds even though they were allocated in Months past. The end goal is to color code the areas were the Cumulative is < less than the Cumulative Actual's for that month then flag it red.

Cumulative Obligated < Cumulative Actual's Then make Color background Red.

table.png

Thank you for any assistance rendered.

Brian

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
whiteline
Master II
Master II

I think this expression will give you accumulation of Sum({$<[Cost Type]={"Obligated*"}>}Amount) by month:

=rangesum(Before(Sum({$<[Cost Type]={"Obligated*"}>}Amount),0, ColumnNo()))

You should use "before" and ColumnNo() because your table is right foward.

For vertical accumulation use "above" and RowNo().

View solution in original post

24 Replies
whiteline
Master II
Master II

I think this expression will give you accumulation of Sum({$<[Cost Type]={"Obligated*"}>}Amount) by month:

=rangesum(Before(Sum({$<[Cost Type]={"Obligated*"}>}Amount),0, ColumnNo()))

You should use "before" and ColumnNo() because your table is right foward.