Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Previous Month Comparison Issue

Hey All,

I'm a noob to Qlikview and I know there is a lot of discussion and posts regarding the subject. I've educated myself a great deal on the matter; however, I cannot seem to figure this out.

I'm trying to use a set expression to show a given agents current month performance as well as their prior month performance within a straight table (see screenshot). I am having an issue with the PREVIOUS MONTH COLLECTIONS calculation. The formula i'm using is such:

sum({[Agent Performance Analysis]<Post_Month = {">=$(=monthstart(addmonths(today(),-1)))<=$(=addmonths(today(),-1))"},Post_Year=>} PRINPMT_28_1)

I've gone about calculating this formula several different ways and I cannot seem to get it to function correctly. I feel that I'm missing something.

Below, I should reflect the SUM of PRINPMT_28_1 for the month of January, 1, 2014 but I reflect a 0 value.

Screenshot.png

I have also attached an example qvw.

Many thanks,

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Oleg_Troyansky
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Brett,

your particular problem is caused by the difference in field formats. Post_Month is formatted as a Month field (Jan, Feb, Mar, etc..) while the Set Analysis expression is using functions like MonthStart() and AddMonths(), that both return dates. So, the Set Analysis expression is trying to compare Jan to 1/1/2014, as an example, and the comparison can't quite work.

So, the "immediate" solution would be to transform the condition in such a way that would compare fields and values that are formatted identically.

However, I'd recommend to replace this complex set analysis condition with a simper one and to move the "heavy lifting" to the load script, by calculating two flags in your Calendar table (I noticed you don't have one, and I would recommend to create a Calendar table: