cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dukane24
Contributor III
Contributor III

Set analysis help requested

I am using the expression below in a bar chart.  "Pastdue" and "Update Interval" are both numerical values calculated in the load script.  I am trying to count instances where the Pastdue value is greater than the Update Interval value.  However, I have verified that it is only counting the "Defect ID" and ignoring the "greater than" condition altogether.  I am fairly new to set analysis so it is quite possible there is something I am overlooking with my syntax.  Any help would be appreciated.

count({$<[Pastdue]={">"$(Update Interval)}>}[Defect ID])

Thank you,

-Nate

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable

I think you can use a simple IF statement instead of Set Analysis for what you are trying to do.

SUM( IF (PastDue > [Update Interval], 1))

Quite simply for every row where PastDue is great than [Update Interval] the system will use the value 1 and them sum them up. If you have a scenario where you only want to count the distinct Defect ID's then you can modify the command slightly:

COUNT(DISTINCT IF(PastDue > [Update Interval], [Defect ID])

In that case it outputs the value Defect ID and then it determines how many of the values you output were unique.

Set Analsysis is only needed where have more complicated scenarios like you want to ignore certain filter selections a user has made or force it to use other filters.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Nicole-Smith

count({$<[Pastdue]={'>$(UpdateInterval)'}>}[Defect ID])

**EDIT:  This will only work if UpdateInterval is a variable.

Nicole-Smith

Actually, it seems like what you're asking for isn't going to work with what I posted either.  Can you post a sample .qvw?

Preparing examples for Upload - Reduction and Data Scrambling

Not applicable

I think you can use a simple IF statement instead of Set Analysis for what you are trying to do.