Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

crosstabs/pivot table newbie

Hi - I'm a newbie in qlikview, and hope someone can offer suggestions:

A simplified example of my problem: I have 1000 widgets. Each widget is evaluated with 1, 2, or 3 different tests (say test A="appearance", test B="quality", test C="strength").  For a given test, a given widget can get a result of "Good", "Fair", or "Poor".  The source data thus might look like this:

widget     test     result

1               A          Good

1               B          Fair

1               C          Fair

2               C          Good

2               A          Poor

3               B          Good

4               A          Fair

4               B          Fair

4               C          Good

5               B          Fair

etc.

Note that some widgets receive all 3 tests, some widgets receive only 2 tests, and some widgets receive only 1 test (the "1-test widgets" I don't care about, as will be evident below).

I would like to create the following pairwise comparison result tables of how widgets performed on pairs of tests: I would pick which two tests to compare from two different list boxes, each with an entry for test A, test B, and test C, to allow me to compare:

test A vs. test B

test A vs test C

test B vs test C

I want to create display the 3 resulting combinations of comparisons of counts of widgets (where which pair of comparisons is displayed is specified by which test is chosen for each of the two dimensions of the results table) . For example, test A vs test B  comparison might yield the following table:

Test B
Test AGoodFairPoor

Good

Fair10813
Poor867

Or without the graphics:

test B

test A     Good     Fair     Poor

Good        25          12          7

Fair          10           8           13

Poor          8            6          7