Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

QV Web Server: User Authentication against Active Directory issues

I'm new to QlikVew and have been trying to find solution in authenticating users in QV Web Server for days.

Here is our setup:

1.We have installed QV Server (QV Web Server, not IIS) in machine A which is part of domain A, and we want to authenticate users (Windows users) who are part of domain B (corporate domain) via Active Directory.

2. Neither machine A nor domain A is part of domain B (no joining)

We use QV Small business edition.

My question is how can I configure QVS to support the user authentication thru LDAP? I read couple discussions, it seems like the only option is to build my own SSO authentication against LDAP and pass header to QVS. Is there any simple option out of the box from QVS? I want to avoid building authentication unless it's really needed.

Any helps are appreciated. Thanks.

Labels (1)
9 Replies
Bill_Britt
Former Employee
Former Employee

Hi,

You will have to setup a trust between the Domains. QlikView doesn't do authentication, Windows does that. QlikView only does authorization.

Bill

Bill - Principal Technical Support Engineer at Qlik
To help users find verified answers, please don't forget to use the "Accept as Solution" button on any posts that helped you resolve your problem or question.
Not applicable
Author

Thanks Bill. If, due to security reasons, trusts between domains can't be established, is there any other option? It looks like I can use a custom authentication to authenticate user thru LDAP against AD. Now the problem is QVS authorization, I just learned QV SBE won't suppport DMS, only NTFS. I wish we know this early. Now, what'll be my options? Any advice? Thanks.

CL

Not applicable
Author

Hi Ng,

Need to have more information from you as per below: