Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tresesco
MVP
MVP

RAM usage high

Hi All,

i am new in server arena.

i think i have some issue with server SETTING. When i restart QVS service, my RAM comes down to 4-5 GB. With every user logs on, it increses by about 100MB. But at the end of the day, RAM usage keeps increasing to 50GB even though there are only 4 users logged on at that time. May be QVS not releasing memory once users logs out.

Can anybody suggest ? Thanks!

Regards,

tresesco

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi tresesco,

As mentioned in one of the replies, the Working Set Limits control the memory reservations and allocations.

I'm an amateur at understanding Window's memory usage and it seems to be pretty tricky stuff at times but here's my take on how QVS works with RAM:

1. When you start the QVS service it checks with the OS how much RAM is available and makes a reservation for both the Low and the High Set limit. (By default 70% and 90%). The reservations are different from actual allocated memory and can't be seen in the Task Manager for example. If you set your QVS logging to High/Debug you should see the set reservations in the Event.log.

2. As long as the usage stays below the Low limit, QVS will keep cacheing all selections and calculations made in all open documents and not release this from RAM. This can be a bit confusing if you don't know what's going on but makes perfect sense. There's no use in having unused RAM on the machine doing nothing, so QVS uses it to cache data which will improve the response time and experience for all users who might look at the same data with the same selections. Document timeout is still respected and if a doc hits the timeout limit (by default 1440 minutes in QEMC) it will be unloaded from RAM and release some memory in the Task Manager.