cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Workbench connection issue.

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Qlikview.

Could anyone please confrm that Workbench can be used remotely from Qlikview server(on another machine)?

And if so, I'm trying to use DataSource object to connect to Qlikview server: I'm specifying QvsHost property of DataSource object, but having no luck with connection.

The question is stupid, but could anyone please provide me with QvsHost naming pattern. Like for example, if you've got Qlikview server installed on SERVERNAME, then QvsHOST property should be equal to ...

If it's any help, I can open the Access Point from my local machine. Do I need to open any ports for Workbench connection?

Any help will be much appreaciated.

Regards,

Igo

5 Replies
Not applicable
Author

First thing to be sure of is that your license allows for workbench it would have a  line in the LEF for the server like:

WORKBENCH;YES;;

If you do not have this in the server LEF you cannot use workbench.

By Remote I am assuming you have Visual Studio on your work station and QV server is on another machine.  This perfectly fine.   However you must have the proxy configured so that communication can occur.  When you did the install and you did the test did you get any errors?

In the web config file you must have the following when the QVS is on another box.

This is from my web config (see bold line):

<QlikViewWorkBench>
   <General>
   <add key="Proxy" value="/Proxy.aspx"/>
   <add key="LogFile" value=""/>
   <add key="Header" value="QVUSER"/>
   <add key="QvAjaxZfcPath" value="http://servername/QvAjaxZfc/"/>
   </General>

</QlikViewWorkBench>

Severname = your QVS server.

If you have workbench and QVs on the sam box then the line would look like this:

<add key="QvAjaxZfcPath" value=""/>