Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AlexMcQueen
Contributor
Contributor

"Server communication lost" when opening document when using VPN

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to Qlikview so please bear with me.

We have a Qlikview server (11.0.11282.0) which people generally access within the network through Internet Explorer (through AccessPoint?). In these cases we have no problems and everyone can access and use the Qlikview documents.

On occasions people will access the Qlikview documents outside the network when they work from home. People within the business are issued laptops with a VPN which allows them to access the network through any internet connection. When this happens, the documents work intermittently. Sometimes the "server communication lost, losing document" is issued. On other occasions the document appears to open but some of the interactively doesn’t work. For example, having an action which opens up another document on another sheet on the document but when you click it, it does nothing.

Has anyone seen this type of behaviour before and can advise on any server / document settings that may need to be changed?

Thanks a lot!

Alex

Labels (2)
2 Replies
Chip_Matejowsky
Support
Support

Hello @AlexMcQueen,

As you described the issue as intermittent, we can rule out port issues. What actions are the remote users performing when the "Server communication lost, closing document" message is returned? Are the users idle or actively working within an app? When this occurs, does refreshing the page allow the users to resume working?

Suggest that you review the QlikView Server Events & Sessions logs and note username and any associated errors. Also review the QlikView Web Server logs for potential errors.