Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Draw a time series/time line chart

Hi

I am new to Qlikview. I wanted to achieve the kind of plot shown in attachment. This is how i tried doing it.

1. I have the data in excel. Three columns: Date, Start Time, End Time (ex: 06/06/2013     12:15:00     12:30:00)

2. I used line chart, horizontal representation, i.e. Dimension on X-axis is: Date. The expressions are Time([Start Time],'hh:mm:ss')) and Time([End Time],'hh:mm:ss'). The result is shown in attachment "How far i succeeded.jpg". I could put two points where the Start TIme and End Time was, but dont know how to join them.

Here is what i am missing.

1. Join Start Time and End Time using a line. All the events (each event is shown by a bar from Start Time to End Time) in a day will be shown using multiple bars.

2. The horizontal axis is the time axis representing 24 hrs, scale preferably 1 hour.

Thanks in advance.

14 Replies
Not applicable
Author

I dont think you can do that straight from the data you have. What you have here is Start and End Time as dimension and Date as expression. For the same date, you want to get the trend between your two times - in order to achieve this you should have a single time dimension and have both the times in that column. You have to pivot your time data.

e.g.:

Date, Time A, Time B
06/06/2013 , 12:13:00, 12:15:00
05/31/2014, 13:15:00, 15:!5:00
01/02/2014, 1:00:00, 5:00:00

Should be

Date, Time

06/06/2013, 12:13:00

06/06/2013, 12:15:00

05/31/2014, 13:15:00

05/31/2014, 15:15:00

01/02/2014, 1:00:00

01/02/2014, 5:00:00

I dont understand the point of this though. Normally the line chart is used to give the trend of something - for example if the sales goes up or down over days ,etc. Not sure what you are trying to achieve here. Sorry couldn't help much .