Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Need help in QlikView basic understanding..

Hi All,

I am new to QlikView BI solution ... I need some help in understanding the basic QlikView( associative,in-memory)  importance than traditional BI

I have two doubts:

1. What  time does a QlikView publisher takes to refresh the data( eg...a million records)  from the sources to QVD files???

2. What is the optimum size of the source data  can the QlikView solution adopt ( Unlike traditional BI supports much larger data warehouses)???

3. In which business areas ( like only SMBs) is this solution apt??

It would be a great help if anyone clear these above doubts......Confused about the actual implementation view of QlikView......Please let me know if any resources are available to detail in and out of QlikView  and its practical implemenataions and success stories.....

Thanks & Regards,

Vamsi Krishna.

9 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi Vamsi Krishna,

I think these questions are really hard to answer:

1) Time to load depends on many things: Sources (time to query databases etc), script calculations (for example doing some aggregations in script, comparisons, grouping etc.) and of course also used hardware infrastructure (server hardware, network etc.)

So I think there is not one simple answer to you first questions.

2) The optimum size of the source data? I am again unable to give you an easy answer. It depends on how you further model these source data in your QlikView data model.

In terms of performance, also the type of source data is relevant, since QlikView stores compressed data in memory / qvd but compression performance is impacted by source data type (e.g. free text vs. numbers) and if these values are distinct or not.