Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Show average in chart

Dear Experts, I am a newbie to Qlikview and needed help with a case we have.

We are tracking access cards transactions of employees. I have data for employees - Name, IN Date & Time and OUT Date and Time. I have to show First IN and Last OUT Time per employee and Date in a chart. The parameters given for user selection are Names of employees and dates. I have made a chart with Dimension as a Hierarchical group of fields Name and Date. The expressions has 2 fields - min(INTime) and max(OUTTime).

1. When I select 20 Dec , the chart shows Andy - 7:30 AM, Greg 8:00 AM - correct. Similarly when I select 21 Dec , chart shows Andy 8:00 AM and Greg 8:30 AM - correct

2. When I select 20 Dec and 21 Dec and Andy, the chart shows 7:30 AM and 8:00 AM - correct. Similarly when I select 20 Dec and 21 Dec and Greg, chart shows 8:00AM and 8:30 AM - correct

3. When I select 20 and 21 Dec and do not select any name - it shows Andy - 7:30 AM and Greg - 8:00 AM. This is the min(INTime) for Andy and Greg calculated over the dates selected. But the user wants to see the average - Andy - 7:45 AM and Greg 8:15 AM

4. Please note I do not have a field called MIN(INTime) or Max(OUTTime). I just have lots of INTime per day per employee and lots of OUTTime per day per employee.

Date Name MIN(INTime)

20 Dec Andy 7:30 AM

20 Dec Greg 8:00 AM

21 Dec Andy 8:00 AM

21 Dec Greg 8:30 AM

Kindly help. Thanks

3 Replies
pover
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Use the aggr() function in the following way:

avg(aggr(min(INTime),Date))

This will give you the minimum INTime of each day and average it.

Regards.

Not applicable
Author

Thanks for your quick reply. But I am not getting to the required solution.