Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Verify column headers before reload

My requirement is that, I have large number of excel files which I need to reload. But before loading, I need to check if all the column headers in all these files are correct (These are data files and in same format. All should have same column headers).

So, my question is how can I read column headers from excel in qlikview for each file and match with a reference array of column headers?

My Try: As I am very new to Qlikview and new to scripting, so couldn't get far. All I can do now is get all files one by one in my code from the directory where it is stored but not sure how to read column headers from them and compare it.

Thanks for any help

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

Let me have some clarification first....

You have multiple excel files having same type of data (may be for different dates or for different months) and want to load them in one lot but before loading you want to check whether all the files are having the same headers...

Considering that all your files are having headers in the same order...you can ignore the column header and load all other data but at the same time can give column header name using alias...

Let me give you one example...

You have Customer vs Sales data for every day....

The files are in

Sales22092014

Sales23092014

Sales24092014

now if you want to load all the files using column header... it looks like as

Load

Customer,

Country,
     Region,

Sales,

InvoiceDate

From

Sales22092014.xlsx

(ooxml, embedded labels, table is Sheet1);

Instead of this you can use as below

LOAD

A as Customer,

B as Country,

C as Region,

D as Sales

FROM

Sales*.xlsx

(ooxml, explicit labels, table is Sheet1)

Where RecNo() <> 1;

=========================================================