Qlik Community

QlikView Management

Discussion Board for collaboration on QlikView Management.

Not applicable

Server Bookmarks - Can you allow users to create and save bookmarks without sharing them?

Hello,

We currently have a QV server doc deployed, when we first put it leve we turned on sharing of objects and bookmarks and now we have a long list of bookmarks showing in the doc that various users have created.

Is it possible to limit this list to just the bookmarks created by the current user? If so how can I achieve this withjout loosing any of the bookmarks created so far?

Thanks,

Matt

4 Replies
bnichol
Valued Contributor

Server Bookmarks - Can you allow users to create and save bookmarks without sharing them?

You see all booksmarks that are available to you automitcally, and I don't think you can disable viewing bookmarks that have been shared.

Long-term

It sounds like users are always clicking the 'Share Bookmark with Other Users'.  You could get users to unselect this setting for future bookmarks and unshare the current bookmarks that are not needed by all. 

Quick

To limit the bookmarks to only those of the current user, select the 'more...' item under the 'bookmarks' menu.  Then select the 'My Server Bookmarks'.  It may take a couple of extra steps, but this should display the list you want.

screenshot_2011-06-23_10-57-37.jpg

Good luck,

B

Not applicable

Server Bookmarks - Can you allow users to create and save bookmarks without sharing them?

Thanks B.. can you diable sharing Bookmarks, but allow users to store there own bookmarks on the server? If so can this be done at a document level or would it apply to all docs on the QVS. Matt..

Not applicable

Server Bookmarks - Can you allow users to create and save bookmarks without sharing them?

Thanks B.. can you diable sharing Bookmarks, but allow users to store there own bookmarks on the server? If so can this be done at a document level or would it apply to all docs on the QVS. Matt..

bnichol
Valued Contributor

Server Bookmarks - Can you allow users to create and save bookmarks without sharing them?

The decison to share collaboration objects, including bookmarks, is entirely up to the users.  Once you allow them to create objects, how they are shared is out of your control.

Training is still your best bet,

B

Community Browser